Cullen receives Willie Turner Dawson Award at SBC

FORT WORTH, Texas (SWBTS) – Joy Cullen, adjunct professor and director of Southwestern’s Naylor Children’s Center, was honored as the 2008 Willie Turner Dawson Award recipient during the Southern Baptist Convention. This honor is given each year to a minister’s wife who has made a distinct denominational contribution.

Cullen, a former International Mission Board missionary in Asia, requested all missionary wives to stand and accept the award with her. For more on this story, please visit

About Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
Southwestern Seminary celebrates its centennial in 2008. Since its founding, the seminary has trained and sent out over 40,000 graduates to serve in local churches and mission fields around the world. In 1908, B.H. Carroll established the seminary on the campus of Baylor University. It was moved to its current location on Seminary Hill in Fort Worth in 1910 and was placed under the direction of the Southern Baptist Convention in 1925. Paige Patterson was elected as the eighth president of the seminary in 2003.
For more information, contact:
Dr. Thomas White, Vice President for Student Services and Communications
Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
817.923.1921 ext. 7300

Established 1908 Fort Worth, Texas