ORLANDO, Fla. (SWBTS) -- The Southern Baptist Convention Ministers' Wives' Luncheon awarded Mrs. Paige (Dorothy) Patterson with the 2010 Willie Turner Dawson Award, June 14. Lanese Dockery, wife of Union University president David Dockery, presented Patterson with the award, which honors a minister's wife who has "made a distinct contribution to her denomination and has rendered distinguished service to her Lord."
"Dorothy has served alongside her husband as a pastor's wife; she has served three different Baptist institutions of higher learning; she has led courses encouraging pastors' wives as each of these institutions; and currently is professor of theology in women's studies at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary," Dockery said.
"On a personal note, whether she's handing out baskets of popcorn to little Dockery boys at a high school football game or if she's preparing tea or gift baskets for faculty and staff at Union University after a devastating tornado that hit us in 2008, she has the heart and soul of a servant. She is one of God's choice servants."
Patterson praised God for giving her godly parents who reared her in the fear and admonition of the Lord and for blessing her with a godly husband, two wonderful children and two beautiful granddaughters.
Patterson, who holds two doctoral degrees, sees her primary roles as those of wife, mother, grandmother and homemaker. She has authored several books, including A Handbook for Ministers' Wives, Where's Mom: The High Calling of Wife and Mother in Biblical Perspective and A Woman Seeking God. She also served as editor for The Woman's Study Bible by Thomas Nelson Publishers and The Women's Evangelical Commentary by Broadman and Holman Publishers.
The first Distinguished Minister's Wife Award was given to Mrs. Ollin J. Owens in 1958. Mrs. J.M. (Willie Turner) Dawson was to receive the award at the 1963 annual meeting but passed away shortly before the meeting and received the award posthumously. That same year, the executive committee named the award in her honor. Past recipients of the Dawson Award include Goldia Naylor, Joyce Rogers, Rhonda Kelley and Carol Ann Draper.