Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary will hold its fall commencement Dec. 15. Referred to as a “commissioning service,” the graduation ceremony begins at 10 a.m. at Travis Avenue Baptist Church, located at 3041 Travis Avenue in Fort Worth. The public and media are invited to attend.

The seminary will award degrees to 263 students from 25 states and U.S. territories and seven foreign countries: Brazil, China, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Syria and Taiwan.

Nine students will receive undergraduate degrees, 233 will receive master’s degrees, and 21 will receive doctoral degrees. Southwestern Seminary, according to a recent study by Auburn Theological Seminary in New York, ranked fifth among providers of faculty members with doctorates in theological education. The seminary was outranked only by the University of Chicago Divinity School and Harvard, Yale and Princeton universities.

Calling Fort Worth home since 1910, Southwestern Seminary is one of six seminaries supported through the Cooperative Program of the Southern Baptist Convention. The seminary is comprised of the undergraduate College at Southwestern and five schools of graduate studies: the School of Theology, the School of Educational Ministries, the School of Church Music, the Roy Fish School of Evangelism and Missions, and the J. Dalton Havard School for Theological Studies in Houston.

Southwestern Seminary exists to provide theological education for individuals engaging in Christian ministry. It strives to provide a community of faith and learning that develops spiritual leaders with a passion for Christ and the Bible, a love for people, and the skills to minister effectively in a rapidly changing world. Since its founding in 1908, the seminary has enrolled nearly 70,000 students. More than 39,000 have graduated.