FORT WORTH, Texas (SWBTS) – Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary’s board of trustees elected two new faculty members, installed a professor to an academic chair, and devoted time to prayer in their fall meeting, Oct. 17. Trustees also toured the final construction stages of new student housing as well as the Dead Sea Scrolls and the Bible exhibition.
Michael Wilkinson was elected as assistant professor of Bible in the College at Southwestern. Wilkinson earned his Master of Divinity (1990) and Ph.D. (2011) from Southwestern and previously served as an associate pastor at First Baptist Church in Rockwall, Texas, from 2007-2012 and at Central Baptist Church in Bryan, Texas, from 1993-2007.
Christopher Teichler was elected as associate professor of music theory and composition in the School of Church Music. Teichler earned is Master of Music (2002) and Doctor of Music (2006) degrees in composition at Northwestern University. Prior to coming to Southwestern, Teichler taught at DePaul University (2008-2012).
Trustees approved the installation of David Robinson, professor of voice, to the James C. McKinney Chair of Church Music. Robinson, who earned his Doctor of Musical Arts at Southwestern in 1990, has served as a voice professor at the seminary since 1985.
Between reports from various subcommittees, Chairman Hance Dilbeck led trustees in specific times of prayer. Huddled in groups of 3-4, trustees prayed for God’s continued work in the institution and for wisdom on behalf of the administration and faculty.
Other business:
  • Trustees accepted the audited financial statements for the seminary and its development foundation. Trustees also approved the election of trustees for the Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary Development Foundation and the Southwestern Seminary Foundation.
  • Trustees approved recommendations for the recipients of the 2013 B.H. Carroll and L.R. Scarborough awards.