FORT WORTH, Texas (SWBTS) – During their spring meeting, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary’s board of trustees promoted and elected faculty, including a former NFL quarterback. David Klingler, former University of Houston standout and 5–year quarterback with the Cincinnati Bengals and Oakland Raiders, was among three elected faculty for the institution.
Klingler, who was the sixth pick overall in the 1992 NFL Draft, was elected as assistant professor of biblical studies at Southwestern’s Havard School of Theological Studies in Houston. He taught at the campus as an adjunct professor from 2008-2010 and has most recently served as executive director and assistant professor of Old Testament studies at Dallas Theological Seminary’s (DTS) Houston campus from 2010 to present. Klingler graduated with his Ph.D. from DTS in 2010 and has served in ministry positions at Redeemer Community Church in Katy, Texas, as well as Second Baptist Church in Houston.
Trustees elected John Massey as associate professor of missions in the Roy Fish School of Evangelism and Missions. Massey, who graduated with his Ph.D. from Southwestern in 2000, has served as a team strategy leader in Southern Malaysia and Singapore with the International Mission Board as well as a chaplain in the U.S. Air Force Reserves with the North American Mission Board. Additionally, he has served as a lecturer and adjunct professor at Singapore Baptist Theological Seminary and Union University in Jackson, Tenn.
Trustees elected John Yeo as assistant professor of Old Testament. Yeo earned his Ph.D. from St. Michael’s College in the University of Toronto. He has taught at Reformed Theological Seminary since 2003 as well as serving in pastoral ministry at several churches.
Trustees also promoted faculty and elected professors to occupy academic chairs:
  • Robert Bernard was promoted to professor of modern languages.
  • Jason Lee was promoted to professor of historical theology.
  • Malcolm Yarnell was promoted to professor of systematic theology.
  • Paul Hoskins was promoted to associate professor of New Testament.
  • John Taylor was promoted to associate professor of New Testament.
  • Thomas Kiker was elected to the James T. Draper Jr. Chair of Pastoral Ministry.
  • Terry Wilder was elected to the Wesley Harrison Chair of New Testament.
  • David Penley was elected to the Hope for the Heart Chair of Biblical Counseling.
Other Business:
  •  An update was provided on the new student housing, confirming phase 1 of the project, which represents 112 units, will open in the fall 2012.
  • Trustees re-elected officers Hance Dilbeck (Oklahoma) as chairman, Jimmy Jackson (Alabama) as vice-chairman and Harlan Lee (Arizona) as secretary. Dilbeck serves as pastor of Quail Springs Baptist Church in Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Trustees approved the 2012-13 annual budget.
  • Craig Blaising was recognized and praised for his 10 years of service as executive vice president and provost of the seminary. During the recognition, President Paige Patterson said Blaising “made a substantive difference from the very first day he stepped on this campus.”