Seminary Hill

The vision to provide trained ministers of the Gospel for America’s western frontiers motivated B.H. Carroll for many years. This dream saw its fruition in the establishment of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in 1908.

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary was an outgrowth of the department of theology, which had been established in 1901, at Baylor University in Waco, Texas. In 1905, the department became Baylor Theological Seminary, with five professors on the teaching staff.

The Baptist General Convention of Texas authorized the separation of the seminary from Baylor University in 1907. At that time, the seminary was given a new name—The Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary—and a separate board of trustees, and then began its educational programs in 1908.

Several Texas cities made strong bids for the new institution. The seminary accepted the offer made by Fort Worth citizens under the leadership of Mr. and Mrs. J.K. Winston. A campus site and enough funds to build the first building were provided. That building was named Fort Worth Hall in honor of its new location. In 1925, the oversight of the seminary passed from the Texas convention to the Southern Baptist Convention.

From the beginning, the major thrust of the seminary has been to provide theological training for “preachers of the Gospel.” Today, its graduates serve in numerous Christian ministries in churches and in the denomination, as well as on mission fields around the world. From its inception, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary has sought to combine the highest standards of research and scholarship with vigorous training in the practical areas of ministry including missions, evangelism, discipleship, preaching and worship. The primary purpose of the Seminary is to provide theological education for individuals engaging in Christian ministry.

In 1915, two departments were created to complement the School of Theology—the Department of Religious Education, headed by J.M. Price, and the Department of Gospel Music, headed by I.E. Reynolds. Six years later, in 1921, both of these departments became full-fledged schools. The School of Gospel Music became the School of Sacred Music in 1926 and underwent another name change in 1957 when it became the School of Church Music. In 2019, the name was modified to the School of Church Music and Worship. The School of Religious Education was renamed the School of Educational Ministries in 1997. In 2009, the school was renamed for Jack D. Terry Jr., and is now known as the Jack D. Terry Jr. School of Educational Ministries.

In 2003, the seminary established the J. Dalton Havard Center for Theological Studies on the campus of Park Place Baptist Church in Houston, Texas. The Houston extension program was founded in 1975 and was accredited as a degree-granting site in 2004. Accordingly, seminary trustees named the Havard School the fourth school of Southwestern Seminary. In 2005, seminary trustees established the seminary’s fifth and sixth schools, the Roy J. Fish School of Evangelism and Missions and the seminary’s undergraduate school, Scarborough College. In August 2016, Southwestern Seminary began its seventh school, the School of Preaching.

The seminary has had nine presidents, beginning with B.H. Carroll. Adam W. Greenway was elected as the ninth president of The Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary on February 27th, 2019.


The seminary has had nine presidents. B.H. Carroll, the first president, served from the embryonic stages of the school until his death in November 1914.

L.R. Scarborough, elected president in February 1915, retired in 1942 and was succeeded by E. D. Head.

E.D. Head served until his retirement in 1953.

J. Howard Williams became president in August 1953 and served until his death in April 1958.

Robert E. Naylor became the fifth president on September 1, 1958. He retired July 31, 1978, and was named president emeritus until his death in February 1999.

Russell H. Dilday was elected sixth president of Southwestern Seminary by the board of trustees on November 22, 1977. He served as president from August 1978 until March 1994.

Kenneth S. Hemphill became the seventh president on July 28, 1994, by a vote of the board of trustees. He served as president from July 1994 until July 2003.

L. Paige Patterson was elected as the eight president of Southwestern Seminary by the board of trustees on June 24, 2003. He served as president from June 2003 to May 2018.

Adam W. Greenway was elected as the ninth president of Southwestern Seminary on February 27, 2019 by the board of trustees.